skip to Main Content

About the Minority Caucus

The FJA is fortunate to have such a wide variety of identities within its membership. The Minority Caucus addresses the issues and concerns of underrepresented attorneys of different races, ethnicities, religions, genders, and orientations improving the legal system through inclusivity, alliance, and advocacy.

Through networking, continuing legal education, and experiences, the FJA brings together our diverse membership with our common goal of defending the civil justice system.

Get Involved

MC Roundtable
The MC Roundtable is a unique benefit of being a member of the MC. Members can request a Roundtable to discuss elements of their case before going to trial. These discussions allow members to get feedback outside of their normal channels, creating different approaches, angles, and answers to the most challenging questions. To request an MC Roundtable, contact MC Liaison, G.C. Murray II, Esq., DPL, at

MC Member Mentorship Program
The MC Member Mentorship Program pairs active FJA members with one another to ensure every member is getting the full support of this great organization. The FJA has a questionnaire that both potential mentors and mentees fill out, and FJA staff works to pair members based on the requested information. There have been three successful pairings of start the new program. To fill out a form and sign-up, email

MC Student Internship Program
To promote diversity at some of the most prestigious personal injury law firms in Florida, the MC created the MC Student Internship Program. This program is designed exclusively for minority students to place them in paid internships with our members around the state. The MC Student Internship Program creates a pipeline for law students from historically underrepresented groups. To sign up your firm please visit here.


Doris Laing, Chair

Vanessa Brice, Chair-Elect

Eric Hernandez, Secretary

Nicholas Johnson, Immediate Past Chair

G.C. Murray II, Esq., DPL
Membership Consultant
Minority Caucus Section Staff Liaison

2021-2023 Directors

Hubert Brown

Nelson Baez

David Prather